Oswego Speedway

  • 1
2023 Schedule is NOW POSTED!

2023 Schedule is NOW POSTED!

Start making your plans now - click on the photo to see our complete 72nd season slate.

Fan Challenge

Garrett Zacharias Wins Dave London Memorial at Oswego; Dan Cascioli Wins NYS Compact Championship Features; Jake Christman wins Black 16 Event


Oswego Speedway

Garrett Zacharias Wins Dave London Memorial at Oswego; Dan Cascioli Wins NYS Compact Championship Features; Jake Christman wins Black 16 Event


OSWEGO, NY (September 19, 2022) - Garrett Zacharias from Candor, NY picked up the win in the Dave London Memorial XIV at Oswego Speedway on Friday night of Classic Weekend. After starting 13th on the grid, Zacharias worked his way through the field and once he took the lead, he pulled away to score the win. Effort, PA’s Dan Cascioli brought the brooms out as he swept the weekend for the Rusty Diamond Cores LLC New York State Compact Championship with wins Friday and Saturday.

Brandon Oltra and Seth Zacharias would lead the 30-car field to the green flag, with Zacharias leading the opening circuit, with Chris Riendeau taking over second place. Riendeau would take the lead away from Zacharias on lap four. Lee Sharpsteen spun in turn two to bring out the race’s first caution with four laps complete. On the restart, Riendeau would continue to show the way over Zacharias, with TJ Cochrane in third place, and pressuring Zacharias for second place. The caution flag would come back out as Eric Brown made hard contact with the inside boiler plate wall. Following the lap six caution,
Riendeau continued to show the way. Jake Christman would work his way into third place, after passing Cochrane on lap seven. Terry Cheetham spun in turn one, and Tim Faro made hard contact to bring the yellow flags back out.

Christman’s strong run would come to an end on lap 26 as he slowed on the top side of turn number four. Evan Rygielski would take the lead away from Riendeau, with Cochrane and Garrett Zacharias racing in the top four. Garrett Zacharias would go three-wide with Riendeau and Cochrane for second place, but Cochrane would be able to take over second place. Garrett’s run to the front would continue as he would take over second place on lap 29. Zacharias would catch the leader Rygielski. The two young-guns would battle for the lead, with Zacharias taking the lead with 15-laps remaining. Zacharias would go on to score the win, his third win at Oswego in 2022. “Drawing 13th was the worst I’ve drawn and didn’t know if I had a shot but was able to bid my time and work through the field,” Zacharias said in victory lane. “I cannot believe I went three for three at Oswego, absolutely unbelievable.”

Finishing third in the Shirley Zacharias Memorial Shootout, DJ Shaw elected to take the $717 top prize. “We weren’t having good luck today and didn’t want to destroy the car,” Shaw said in victory lane.

Effort, PA’s Dan Cascioli started on the pole on night one for the Rusty Diamond Cores LLC New York State Compact Championship and quickly pulled away from the balance of the field. The field would go three and four wide throughout the event, as the Compact cars raced on the wide Oswego surface. Dave Millbrand would take over second place early on, with CJ Lavair racing in third place. After a lap five caution for debris, Cascioli would once again start to pull away from the field, with Millbrand racing in second place. After starting 15th on the grid, Joey Pettinelli would work his way into the top five. A late-race restart would bunch the field up, and Cascioli would take off in the lead and would go on to score the win. “That was an awesome race and I absolutely love this track,” Cascioli said in victory lane.

Saturday of Classic Weekend saw the Super Stocks back in action for the Black 16, a 16-lap event in honor and memory of Terry Cochrane, and it was Walnutport, PA driver Jake Christman picking up the win. Christman would score his first Oswego checkered flag over Seth Zacharias, Zach Willis, Nick Robinson, and Evan Rygielski.

Just like on Friday night, Dan Cascioli picked up the checkered flag in the Saturday afternoon race for the Rusty Diamond Cores LLC New York State Compact Championship. Jacob Gustafson, Nick Robinson, Nick Schaefer, BJ Wambold would complete the top five after the feature event. 37 cars registered for the event, with 35 taking the green flag.


A-MAIN (50 Laps): GARRETT ZACHARIAS, Evan Rygielski, TJ Cochrane, Bill Frisbie, Mike Nichols, Nate Peckham, Gary Noe, Brian Hallett, Jason Duke, Johnny Bennett, Chris Riendeau, Jason Dinzler, Barrett Schenk, Tim Farro, Brad Haynes, Tim Gullo, Zach Willis, Eric Brown, Seth Zacharias, Frank Chapman III, Lee Sharpsteen, Cole Hicks, Nick Robinson, Brandon Oltra, Jim Steffenhagen, Frank Chapman Jr, Jake Christman, Dennis Richmond, Josh Hunter, Terry Cheetham

Shirley Zacharias Memorial Shootout (12 Laps – Top 6 advance to A-Main): Frisbie, M. Nichols, Shaw, Schenk, Haynes, Chapman Jr, Robert Fink, Brian DeMark, Paul Flye, David Bailey, Andy Cocilova, Bryan Granger, Charlie Sharpsteen, Jeff Whalen, Billy Coyle, Paul Godby, Matt Druar
Did Not Start: Jason Duke Jr, Griffin Miller, Jake Wylie

Qualifying Heat Race Winners: Brandon Oltra, Tim Gullo, Zach Willis, TJ Cochrane, Garrett Zacharias

BLACK 16 LAP SHOOTOUT: JAKE CHRISTMAN, Seth Zacharias, Zach Willis, Nick Robinson, Evan Rygielski, Gary Noe, Paul Flye, DJ Shaw, Lee Sharpsteen, TJ Cochrane

FRIDAY A-MAIN: DAN CASCIOLI, Joey Pettinelli, Nick Robinson, Corey Copeland, CJ Lavair, Scott Adams, Kenzie Adams, Corey Edelman, BJ Wambold, Joey Bevacqua, Colton Ingerick, Trisha Connolly, Cody Boehm, TJ Kapish, Russ Bulger Jr, Dave Millbrand, DJ Shaw, Zeb Farber, Chuck Powalczyk, Todd Stone, Ed Herman, Evan Reardon, John Byrd, Russ Bulger Sr, Justin Merkel, Tim Dunn, Greg Urban, James Dunkleman III, Nick Galusha, Nick Schaefer

B-Main Winner: Bob Palmer

Qualifying Heats: Greg Urban, CJ Lavair, Corey Copeland

SATURDAY A-MAIN: DAN CASCIOLI, Jacob Gustafson, Nick Robinson, Nick Schaefer, BJ Wambold, Scott Adams, Corey Edelman, Cody Boehm, Nick Galusha, Todd Stone, Evan Reardon, Ed Herman, John Byrd, Justin Merkel, Mike Cole, CJ Lavair, Mallory Kutz, Lee Fritz, Ryan Hessler, Bob Palmer, Tony Hillard, Zeb Farber, Colton Ingerick, Mike Klotz, Russ Bulger Jr, DJ Shaw, Zack Jaynes, Joey Bevacqua, Russ Bulger Sr, James Dunkleman, Trisha Connolly, Eric Szychowski, Kenzie Adams, TJ Kapish, Greg Urban

Did Not Start: David Millbrand, Jason Bristol

Submitted By: CAMDEN PROUD

Back to News
Buy Tickets
Fan Challenge

Our Partners

Coca Cola
Hoosier Racing Tires
Holiday Inn - Oswego
Insinger Performance
Safety Kleen
Stewarts Shops
Radical Race Gear
Taco Bell
AP Auto Parts
Best Western Plus
Burkes Home Center
Burritt Motors
Cs Beverage Center
Century 21 - Galloway Realty
Corr-Pak Merchandising Inc
Helena Agri-Enterprises
JP Jewelers
Pathfinder Bank
Skips Fish Fry
U-Pull U-Save Auto Parts
Turning Stone
Dig Safely New York
Clarion Hotel  Suites Riverfront
Rock Auto - Oswego Speedway

Contact Us