Monday, April 29, 2013
Up to Speed: ISMA Supermodifieds Highlight Oswego Speedway's 63rd Season Opener
By Oswego Speedway @ 3:41 PM :: 2909 Views

OSWEGO, NY (April 29, 2013) – For the 63rd consecutive season, Oswego Speedway will open its gates for racing at the lake side facility known as the ‘Steel Palace.’

The night’s racing, which will feature round one of the Shea Concrete ‘Steel Palace’ ISMA SuperSeries as well as the Pathfinder Bank SBS division, will be presented by Gater Racing News and North Country Home Builders.

Shea Concrete ‘Steel Palace’ ISMA SuperSeries round #1.  ISMA Supermodified 50-lap main event, plus a 35-lap Pathfinder Bank SBS main event.  

Saturday May 4, at Oswego Speedway in Oswego, NY.  Pit gates will open at 1pm, grandstands at 3pm, with time trials scheduled for 5pm, and racing at 6:30pm.  RAIN DATE – Sunday, May 5.

Oswego Speedway is located at 300 East Albany St. in Oswego, NY

Padded reserved seats $30, general admission $25, Pit Passes $35.  Tickets can be purchased in advance by calling (315) 342-0646.  Kids 16 and under are free with paid adult.

Oswego Speedway –
Twitter - @OswegoSpeedway
Facebook –
YouTube – OswegoSpeedwayOnline
Live Updates can be seen on Twitter, Facebook, as well as the Oswego Speedway website

Oswego Speedway is a semi-banked 5/8 mile paved oval.  The non-wing Novelis Supermodified track record is held by Doug Didero with a time of 16.210 seconds at 138.786mph, established on September 5, 2009.  The wing Supermodified track record is 15.198 seconds, set by Chris Perley in September of 2008.

Chris Perley – 7
Dave McKnight – 4
Tim Jedrzejek – 4
Dave Shullick Jr. – 3
Randy Ritskes – 2
Pat Abold – 2
Bentley Warren – 2
Russ Wood – 2
Joey Payne – 1
Gary Allbritain – 1
Scott Martel – 1
Greg Furlong – 1
Johnny Payne – 1
Bobby Santos – 1
Nokie Fonoro – 1
Trent Stephens – 1
Charlie Schultz – 1
Bob Bond – 1
Ben Seitz – 1
Mike Lichty – 1
Dave Gruel – 1

1992 – John Phelps
1993 – Russ Brown
1994 – Scott Landers*
1995 – Fred Taylor
1996 – Bob Rundell
1997 – Tom Jodway
1998 – Ray Graham*
1999 – Brian Sweeney
2000 – Shawn Muldoon
2001 – John Ketcham
2002 – Matt Wheeler
2003 – Mike Bond*
2004 – Kris Meyn
2005 – Russ Brown*
2006 – Josh LaRochelle
2007 – Larry Muroski
2008 – Mike Bond
2009 – Dave Gruel*
2010 – Steve Abt
2011 – Mike Bond*
2012 – JJ Andrews

*Went on to become Track Champion that year

6 times the opening night winner has gone on to win the track championship.

Mike Bond leads all drivers with 3 opening night wins (2003, 2008, 2011)
-    Russ Brown, 2 – (1993, 2005)

Ray Graham is the only driver to win an opening night feature in both the SBS and Supermodified divisions.

Saturday, May 11th – ‘Oswego Super Kick-Off!’ presented by Mitchell’s Speedway Press and CJ Ferlito Aggregates - Novelis Supermodified 75 and Pathfinder Bank SBS 30.  Pit gates open at 1pm, Grandstand gates open at 3pm, Supermodified time trials at 5pm, racing at 6:30pm.

For more information on Oswego Speedway be sure to visit  You can also LIKE the (Official) Oswego Speedway page at, or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.  To purchase tickets or order merchandise please call the Speedway box office at (315) 342-0646.

About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway, a sports entertainment company, is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. Oswego Speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August, 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at Oswego Speedway making Oswego the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds accompany the full blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, arguably the greatest driver of all time, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, along with former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.